Warm greetings!

Now, I’m not sure where my love of baking came from. I’d like to say that it just sprouted from within me overnight but I think it partly came from watching my mom in the kitchen as I was growing up. Although baking in the kitchen is something that only happens on more special days, when she does the products are glorious.

It wasn’t until a few months ago that I started really trying my hand at it. It was when we finally got the Food Network on our local cable provider. Watching them every day would really get my senses tingling and doing a little dance, so that was really the last straw for me. I had to try it for myself and no, they did not disappoint– it really is heaps of fun. Currently being on break, I get a lot of free time on my hands these few months before I really start my research so I’d like to try as many recipes as I can in the mean time.

Took a trip to the local kitchen supplies store a few weeks back with my mom and finally picked up my very own mini-bundt tray after weeks of agonizing on whether or not to get it. I wanted to try it out right away so I looked through a few of the blogs I frequent and found the perfect recipe. Honey-Meyer Lemon Pound Cake with Chamomile Glaze from Desserts for Breakfast! Now, recipes don’t always jump out of the page for me but this one really did somehow. Maybe it was her beautiful pictures or the serendipity of the find, either way I had to try it immediately.

These little bites are warm and comforting, with a slightly chewy outer layer but a soft and crumbly interior. They give off the loveliest faint aroma of honey and will put a smile on any rough day.

Enjoy!

Honey-Meyer Lemon Pound Cake with Chamomile Glaze
adapted from Desserts for Breakfast 

makes 6-8 mini bundt cakes
(I got about 20 small ones, probably due to smaller moulds on my part)

 For the cake:

1/4 cup whole milk
1 Tbsp meyer lemon juice*
1/2 cup honey
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/4 tspn baking powder
1/2 tspn salt
13 Tbsp (or 187 g) butter
1/4 cup sugar
1 Tbsp meyer lemon zest
3 eggs

For the glaze:

6 Tbsp hot water
4 Tbsp dried chamomile blossoms**
3/4 cup fine granulated sugar **

Preheat oven to 175 degrees C/350 degrees F.
Grease mini-bundt molds.

Whisk milk, lemon juice and honey together until combined, set aside.

Cream butter until light and fluffy using a mixer bowl with a paddle attachment on medium high for approx. 2 mins. or using a wooden spoon like I did (I let the butter soften to room temperature first which makes it a lot easier to cream).
Gradually add sugar and lemon zest, mix for 2-3 mins.
Add one egg at a time, beating well between each addition until completely incorporated.
Beat in flour mixture in two batches, alternating with milk and honey mixture. Do not overmix.

Pour batter into moulds, bake for 25-35 minutes (mine took around 30 mins) until cakes are golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the centre of each cake comes out clean.

Remove cake from oven, let cool for 10mins before removing from moulds.

Pour hot water over chamomile blossoms, cover and let steep for 5mins.
Remove blossoms and stir sugar into the liquid until combined.

Glaze warm cakes, let dry completely before serving.

* we are not supplied with Meyer lemons here so I used regular medium sized lemons which worked fine too.

** i substituted the chamomile for Lipton’s Yellow Label Tea which was the only kind I had on hand and cut the sugar added to the glaze down by half, just a personal preference.


Leave a Reply

